Dinner and Prizegiving 2010

19 Nov 2010

Written by Administrator on Tuesday February 5, 2019

Annual Dinner and Prizegiving

Held at The Wiremill on 19 November 2010

WINTER 2009/10

National RWS League 25yd Div 25 – team medals to:

  • Jim Howard,
  • Callan Howard,
  • Geoff Gilbert,
  • Mike Barlow,
  • Richard Nichols.

Air Pistol 10m Div 9 - team medals to:

  • Mike Kettle,
  • Richard Nichols
  • Malcolm Brain.

Best Average Medals to:

  • Tim Green 98.5 'A' team
  • Richard Nichols 97.1 'B' team

NSRA Eley Competition

  • Silver Medal for air rifle Tim Green
  • Silver medal for prone rifle Graham Stevenson
  • Gold medal for prone rifle Jim Howard
  • Gold medal for prone rifle Peter Watson

Polar Bear
50m Div 4 Team Certificate to the 'A' Team:

  • Ian Payne,
  • Graham Rowcroft
  • Malcolm Brain.

West Kent League
William of Wales Competition.

The following all receive badges

  • Class B Callan Howard and Jo Downing
  • Class C John Waples and Graham Stevenson

Medals also go to

  • John and Graham for Class E Pairs

Other badges awarded are:

  • Class 'B' Malcolm Brain
  • Class 'C' Peter Watson, Jim Howard and Geoff Gilbert
  • Class 'D' Les Glazier
  • Class 'E' Maria Glazier

Any Sights League

Winners of Div '5' are East Grinstead 'A' who receive medals:

  • Jim Howard,
  • Graham Stevenson,
  • Graham Rowcroft
  • Mike Jarvis

Portslade and West Hove

Medals to Winners 25 yds

  • Div '12' Charlie Bird
  • Div '21' Joe Tucker

East Grinstead Meridian League.

2009/10 25yds

  • Div '3' Rory Baker
  • Div '2' Mike Barlow


  • Div '1' Ian Payne

2010 25yds

  • Div '2' John Waples
  • Div '3' Joe Tucker


  • Div '1' Malcolm Brain


  • Div '1' Malcolm Brain

Sussex County Leagues 2008/9 (Running a little late!)

The following all receive medals


10m Air Pistol

  • Div '12' 2008 Mike Kettle
  • Div '7' 2008  Malcolm Brain
  • Div '6' 2009/10 Malcolm Brain
  • Div '9' 2008 Richard Nichols
  • Div '9' 2009 Richard Nichols
  • Div '4' 2009/10 Richard Nichols

50 m

  • Div '5' Malcolm Brain
  • Div '6' Jo Downing

25 yds

  • Div '2' The 'B' Team
    • Malcolm Brain,
    • Jim Howard,
    • Keith Green,
    • Andy Meyers, &
    • Charlie Bird

City of London League
In April the 'A' Team again were successful at the shoulder to shoulder finals.
They were:

  • Tim Green,
  • Sarah Collyer,
  • Malcolm Brain,
  • David Britchford and
  • Charlie Bird.

They brought back the Corporation Cup and each also receive a salver and spoon.

Club Competitions 2009/10

Powell Trophy (Awarded to a non committee member who has made a significant
contribution of his time)

  • Jim Howard


The Chairman's Tankard: Richard Nichols


John Waples Tankard (most improved outdoors)

Winner: Malcolm Brain

Team of Three Competition

Runners Up: Jeremy Allen, Graham Rowcroft, Charlie Bird
each receives a medal

Winners: Nobby Humphrey, Rory Baker, Linda Kensett
each receives a medal

Joanna Parfitt Shield (Through the ranges 25yds, 50m & 100yds)

Runner Up Geoff Gilbert

Winner Graham Stevenson

Skinner Shield (Club handicap English match)

Runner Up: Mike Barlow receives the tankard

Winner: Malcolm Brain receives the shield

Friendship Shield (Club knockout competition)

Runner Up: Linda Kensett receives a medal

Winner: Malcolm Brain receives the shield

Air Rifle Trophy for the Winter Leagues

Winner: Joanna Parfitt

Air Rifle Trophy for the Summer Leagues

Winner: Mark Wiles receives the trophy and certificate

Air Pistol Pot for the Winter Season

Winner: Richard Nichols receives the trophy and a certificate

Air Pistol Trophy for the Summer Season

Winner: Richard Nichols receives the trophy and a certificate

City Tankard (Best average in City of London Leagues)

Runner Up: David Britchford receives a medal

Winner: Tim Green

Sussex Trophy (Best improver winter)

Runner Up: Les Glazier receives a medal

Winner: Barney Kensett receives the trophy and medal

Ton Cup (Winter Tons) David Britchford

Ken Nichols Trophy (Summer Long Range Champion)

Runner Up: Malcolm Brain and Graham Rowcroft receive the Daily Telegraph

Winner: Tim Green with 391

Junior Champion (Winter)

Winner: Jason Diacos

The Gordon Edmunds Trophy ( best improved new junior)

Winner Owen Jackson

Ladies Champion

Runner Up: Jo Downing receives Daily Mail Certificate

Winner: Sarah Collyer receives the trophy

Club Champion Summer

Runner Up: David Britchford receives News of the World Certificate

Winner: Tim Green receives the shield

Club Champion

Runner Up: David Britchford receives the Chas Bell Certificate

Winner: Tim Green receives the 300 cup